Welcome to Rainy River District

Audit Committee

In accordance with the Education Act, the Rainy River District School Board formed an Audit Committee in March 2011. The Audit Committee is comprised of two elected Trustees and two external volunteer members. The Role of the Audit Committee is to assist the Board of Trustees in fulfilling its responsibilities related to governance and oversight.

The primary duties and responsibilities of the Audit Committee include:

  • review the financial management of the Board and its financial reporting processes;
  • review the overall effectiveness of the Board's internal controls;
  • review the performance and effectiveness of the Board's internal auditors;
  • review the independence and performance of the Board's external auditors;
  • review the effectiveness of the Board's system for monitoring compliance with legislative requirements and with the Board's policies and procedures; and
  • review and assess the Board's policies with respect to risk management.

The Committee meets at least three (3) times per year plus ad hoc meetings as required.

Please see Ontario Regulation 361/10 Audit Committees for more information.

Audit Committee Terms of Reference

Audit Committee Membership

  • Raymond Roy, Trustee
  • John Fuhrer, Trustee
  • Dawn Redford, External Volunteer Member
  • Jordan Forbes, External Volunteer Member

Resource to the Committee:

  • Alex Marton, Regional Internal Audit Manager
  • Heather Campbell, Director of Education
  • Laura Mills, Superintendent of Business

Audit Committee Meeting Minutes:

February 11, 2020
December 10, 2019
November 12, 2019 - cancelled
September 24, 2019


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.