Welcome to Rainy River District School Board

Board Meeting Highlights - June 4, 2024

Board Meeting Highlights - June 4, 2024
Posted on 06/06/2024
Employee Recognition:
Congratulations to the following on their 25 years of service with the board: Kari-Lynn Beckett, Sarah Freeman-Kivimaki, Dana Anderson, Paul Redford, Shane Bliss

Congratulations to the following on their retirement: Stephanie Botsford, Trevor Bowles, Amy Spicer, Kimberly Hagarty, Marilyn Cole, Marie-Ann DeGroot.
Marilyn Cole started in 1990 and her enthusiasm and positive attitude, her dedication as an employee is a beacon and inspiration to her colleagues. She was dedicated to her work at SCAF, where she spent most of her years as an educational assistant. She was referred to many as the “school mom” as she took care of every bump and bruise in the school, putting her first aid training to good use. We wish her all the best in her retirement and spending more time with her grandchildren. 
Marie-Ann DeGroot started teaching in 1982, 42 years ago and working at Donald Young School the whole time. She’s had roles as a teacher assistant, a library assistant and an education assistant and everyone loved her best in the library. 
She would make an appearance every year as the Book Doctor and all the kids would be so excited to bring their broken books to the Book Doctor. She always found a way to make the kids feel welcome and included, and they loved coming to the library class.
As things changed over the years, she always found a way to advocate for what was best for the students. We thank her for everything she has done for the students and DYS. 

Recognition of Service Awards:
We want to congratulate the following individuals for the exceptional and outstanding contributions they have made within our school community and highlight the dedication and hard work that enriched the educational environment and support the success of students across the district.

Director of Education, Heather Campbell, presented the Community Partner of the Year award to Anne Marie Armstrong and Debbie Hebert from Sunset Country Métis.

Vice Chair, Mike Walchuk, presented the Volunteer of the Year award to Kim Beaudry.

Nikki Armstrong, Rainy River District Transportation Services Consortium Manager, presented the Bus Driver of the Year award to Aleata Jerry.

Chair Pierroz presented the Employee of the Year awards to Heather Algie and Joyce Scott.

System-Program/Curriculum Success:
Paisley Riches, the winner of the Intermediate Division in the RRDSB district Speech Contest, presented her speech titled "The Global Pandemic Lasting Impact on Kids" to the Trustees. 
Chair Pierroz thanked Paisley on behalf of the Trustees.
View report here

Board Reports:
The Board approved the following policies:
1.20 First Nation, Métis, and Inuit Education Advisory Committee
5.80 Elders, Senators, Knowledge, Keepers, and Drums
6.10 Community Use of Schools
The Board approved the following policy for community consultation:
2.01 Board Code of Conduct
View polices here

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.