Welcome to Rainy River District

School Support / Special Education Services

mission statement

YouTube Video - Services offered by the School Support Services Department

Bob Kowal

  Bob Kowal
  Principal of School Support Services / Indigenous Education Leader

  bob.kowal@mail.rrdsb.com
  807-274-9855 ext. 5018






Char Bliss

  Char Bliss
  Vice-Principal of school Support Services / Special Education Administrator
  charlayne.bliss@mail.rrdsb.com
  807-274-9855 ext. 5015
  YouTube Video - Student Success






Robyn Dalseg

  Robyn Dalseg
  School Support Services Secretary
  807-274-9855 ext. 5001
  elisha.dalseg@mail.rrdsb.com







Jason Jones

  Jason Jones
  Ojibwe Language Coordinator

  jason.jones@mail.rrdsb.com
  807-274-9855 ext. 5017







Christa Gibson
  Christa Gibson
  Indigenous Education Coordinator

  christa.gibson@mail.rrdsb.com
  807-274-9855 ext. 5019
  The role of the Indigenous Education Coordinator is to support and increase knowledge,
  understanding and awareness of First Nation, Metis and Inuit histories, cultures and
  perspectives for all staff and students.  We are committed to improving the well-being and
  achievement of First Nation and Metis students in our schools while embedding culture in
  our classrooms, and supporting teachers to implement curriculum developed in response to
  the Truth and Reconciliation Commission Calls to Action.


Heather Bridgeman

  Heather Bridgeman
  Early Years / K-6 Coordinator
  
heather.bridgeman@mail.rrdsb.com
  807-274-9855 ext. 5008







Brad Gushulak

  Brad Gushulak
  STEM Coordinator
  bradley.gushulak@mail.rrdsb.com
  807-274-9855 ext. 5012
  The STEM Coordinator supports teachers and students with leveraging technology and hands-on activities
  to enhance student learning. The integration of makerspace resources increases student engagement
  and allows students to develop 21st century competencies.




Shannon Westover
  Shannon Westover
  Secondary Curriculum Coordinator / Technology Enabled Learning and Teaching Contact
  
shannon.westover@mail.rrdsb.com
  807-274-9855 ext. 5022
  The Technology Enabled Learning and Teaching contact (TELTc) for the RRDSB works collaboratively
  with staff and students to create an understanding of the enabling role of technology for students to
  attain the competencies for learning in the 21st century (Character Education, Citizenship,
  Communication, Critical Thinking and Problem-Solving, Collaboration, and Creativity). Technology use
  is focused on enabling students to be innovative, intellectually curious, and creative in their learning.



Sherree Denby

  Sherree Denby
  Secondary Numeracy Coordinator
  
sherree.denby@mail.rrdsb.com
  807-274-9855 ext. 5009
  The Secondary Numeracy Coordinator provides supports for Intermediate & Senior
  mathematics and numeracy for staff and students across the board.  





Tanya Kroocmo

  Tanya Kroocmo
  Elementary Numeracy Coodinator
  tanya.kroocmo@mail.rrdsb.com
  807-274-9855 ext. 5007







Robroy Donaldson
  Robroy Donaldson
  Experiential Learning / OYAP Coordinator
  robroy.donaldson@mail.rrdsb.com
  807-274-9855 ext. 5011
  The Coordinator of OYAP (Ontario Youth Apprenticeship Program) and Experiential Learning,  
  works with schools and community partners to facilitate a number of programs where students   
  explore pathways in apprenticeship, post-secondary education, the workplace, and community  
  living. By participating in programs and initiatives such as Cooperative Education, Dual Credits,  
  Specialist High Skills Majors, OYAP, Skills Ontario Competitions, and career exploration through  
  class visits and field trips, RRDSB students are gaining experiences and certifications to explore  
  and plan pathways through K-12 to post-secondary settings.


Alison Simpson
  Alison Simpson
  Reading Recovery Teacher Leader / K-3 Literacy Coordinator
  alison.simpson@mail.rrdsb.com
  807-274-9855 ext. 5006
  YouTube Video - Reading Recovery
  The Reading Recovery Teacher Leader oversees the implementation of Reading Recovery for the
  Board, including providing Professional Development for teachers, collecting and analyzing data
  and teaching two students daily. The K-3 Curriculum Coach supports teachers with literacy
  programming through co-planning, assessing and co-teaching.


Ann Anderson

  Ann Anderson
  Speech Language Program Coordinator
  
ann.anderson@mail.rrdsb.com
  807-274-9855 ext. 5002
  YouTube Video - Speech/Language






Lonna Oster

  Lonna Oster
  Speech Language Program Coordinator
  lonna.oster@mail.rrdsb.com
  807-274-9855 ext. 5016







Trishia Gagnon

  Trishia Gagnon
  Behavioural Therapist
  trishia.gagnon@mail.rrdsb.com
  807-274-9855 ext. 5014
  The Behaviour Therapist is a collaborative resource to support  staff / students; the service
  delivery model utilizes educational opportunities to provide training and modelling of program
  implementation with respect to various behavioural challenges that students experience.




Alexis Saltmarsh

  Alexis Saltmarsh
  Behavioural Therapist
  alexis.saltmarsh@mail.rrdsb.com
  807-274-9855 ext. 5004
  The Behaviour Therapist is a collaborative resource to support  staff / students; the service
  delivery model utilizes educational opportunities to provide training and modelling of program
  implementation with respect to various behavioural challenges that students experience.




Ruth Haney

  Ruth Haney
  Temporary Behavioural Therapist
  ruth.haney@mail.rrdsb.com
  807-482-2271 (Donald Young School) 
  The Temporary Behavioural Therapist works alongside students and staff(s) to provide them with
  skills and strategies to support challenging behaviors.




Marlon Douglas

  Marlon Douglas
  Techways Coordinator
  marlon.douglas@mail.rrdsb.com
  807-274-9855 ext. 5020







Tracey Idle

  Tracey Idle
  Mental Health Leader
  tracey.idle@mail.rrdsb.com
  807-274-9855 ext. 4992
  YouTube Video - Mental Health






Marlee Zappitelli

  Marlee Zappitelli
  Autism Support Worker
  marlee.zappitelli@mail.rrdsb.com
  Using Applied Behaviour Strategies the Autism Support Worker supports the development and
  growth of self-regulation and social emotional learning and provides strategies and support to
  students, staff, and parent(s)/guardian(s).  




Sherrie Mullner

  Sherrie Mullner
  Autism Support Worker
  807-597-6640 (North Star School)
  sherrie.mullner@mail.rrdsb.com
  The Autism Support Worker provides positive behaviour support to educators and students
  through consultation, modelling and group social skills programs. 





Kellie Whalen

  Kellie Whalen
  Attendance Counsellor
  807-274-7747 ext. 262 (Fort Frances High School)
  kellie.whalen@mail.rrdsb.com
  





Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.