Welcome to Rainy River District

Parent Involvement Committee

Parent Involvement Committee

One of the most effective and rewarding ways that parents can become involved in their children's learning is through active involvement in their school council. You will have the opportunity to voice your opinions on school issues and decisions on behalf of parents and community members in your school community.
Research shows that parental involvement is the most significant factor contributing to a child's success in school. Their active participation in school activities improves student achievement, increases school attendance and decreases student dropout. Students succeed when parents have a positive attitude about the importance of a good education.

NewsletterSchool Council


Meeting Minutes

Archived Newsletters

Annual Reports


2022-2023 Parent Involvement Committee Members

Helena Guertin, Co-Chair - Parent Representative, JW Walker School
Alexa Wideman, Co-Chair - Parent Representative, Mine Centre School
Lonna Oster - Parent Representative, Fort Frances High School
Stevie-Lee Kaemingh - Parent Representative, Donald Young School
Robin Holden - Parent Representative, Nestor Falls School
Tanis Tom - Parent Representative, Rainy River K-12 Schools
Laura McCormick - Parent Representative, Sturgeon Creek School
Katie Mowe - Parent Representative, Crossroads School
Jorge VanSlyke - Parent Representative, Atikokan K-12 Schools
Vacant - Parent Representative, Robert Moore School
Vacant - Parent Representative, McCrosson-Tovell School

Shannon King - Parent/Community Representative, Seven Generations Institute
Michelle Strachan - Community Representative, Weechi-It-Te-Win Family Services
Carly Pruys - Community Representative, Northwestern Health Unit
Sarah Creed - Trustee Representative, Rainy River District School Board
Shane Bliss - Principal Representative, Fort Frances High School Intermediate
Sherri-Lynn Hay - Teacher Representative, Sturgeon Creek School
Heather Campbell - Director of Education, Rainy River District School Board

Visit our School Councils page

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2023 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.