Welcome to Rainy River District

School Support / Special Education Services

SSS logo

Mission
We will be an accessible support to our schools, staff, and students through an evidence-informed, capacity-building approach which fosters learning and promotes alignment with the Ministry, Board, and Schools.

Meet the School Support Services Team

  Char Bliss
  Principal of School Support Services / Special Education Administrator
  charlayne.bliss@rrdsb.com
  807-274-9855 ext. 5015


Char Image 
  Kim Kirk
  Indigenous Education Leader
  kim.kirk@rrdsb.com
  807-274-9855 ext. 5018

Kim Kirk 
  Jason Jones
  Ojibwe Language Coordinator

  jason.jones@rrdsb.com
  807-274-9855 ext. 5017
 Jason Jones
  Shannon Westover
  Technology Enabled Learning and Teaching Contact (TELTc) / Secondary Curriculum Coordinator
  
shannon.westover@rrdsb.com
  807-274-9855 ext. 5022
  •  Supports teachers in the transition from traditional to blended / remote learning
  •  Assists teachers in embedding technology into their classrooms to enhance the student learning experience
  •  Provides training to teachers to use parent engagement tools (Eg. Edsby, Seesaw, Google Classroom)
  •  Notifies and assists secondary teachers when new Ministry curriculum is released
 Shannon Westover
  Tanya Kroocmo
  Elementary Numeracy Coordinator
  tanya.kroocmo@rrdsb.com
  807-274-9855 ext. 5007
  •  Provides students and educators with support, tools, and resources needed to advance student learning and confidence
      in math
  •  Utilizes and promote research-based best practices to help schools increase the performance of all students, including   
      those with special education needs and students facing systemic barriers in their math learning
  •  Supports the effective implementation of the elementary numeracy curriculum
  •  Builds awareness for parents to what their children are learning in school
 Tanya Kroocmo
  Robroy Donaldson
  Experiential Learning / OYAP Coordinator
  robroy.donaldson@rrdsb.com
  807-274-9855 ext. 5011
  The Coordinator of OYAP (Ontario Youth Apprenticeship Program) and Experiential Learning,   
  works with schools and community partners to facilitate a number of programs where students    
  explore pathways in apprenticeship, post-secondary education, the workplace, and community   
  living. By participating in programs and initiatives such as Cooperative Education, Dual Credits,   
  Specialist High Skills Majors, OYAP, Skills Ontario Competitions, and career exploration through   
  class visits and field trips, RRDSB students are gaining experiences and certifications to explore   
  and plan pathways through K-12 to post-secondary settings.

 
 Robroy Donaldson
  Alison Simpson
  Reading Recovery Teacher Leader / K-3 Literacy Coordinator
  alison.simpson@rrdsb.com
  807-274-9855 ext. 5006
  The Reading Recovery Teacher Leader oversees the implementation of Reading Recovery for the
  Board, including providing Professional Development for teachers, collecting and analyzing data 
  and teaching two students daily. The K-3 Curriculum Coach supports teachers with literacy
  programming through co-planning, assessing and co-teaching.
 Alison Simpson
  Lynne Avis
  Reading Recovery Teacher Leader / K-3 Literacy Coordinator
  lynne.avis@rrdsb.com
  807-274-9855 ext. 5008
 
  Marlon Douglas
  Techways Coordinator
  marlon.douglas@rrdsb.com
  807-274-9855 ext. 5020
  •  Works collaboratively with classroom teachers and intermediate students to provide students with hands-on learning
      experience through a variety of design and build activities, which includes basic mechanical, carpentry and science and
      technology.
  •  Provides a bridge for intermediate students in making a successful transition into high school and in career and 
      pathways planning.
 Marlon Douglas
  Tracey Idle
  Mental Health Leader
  tracey.idle@rrdsb.com
  807-274-9855 ext. 4992
   • Creates and implements the Board's mental health strategy and action plan
   • Works as part of the provincial community of practice with School Mental Health Ontario (SMHO) 
   • Provides education and support to staff, students, and parents
   • Collaborates with community partners to engage in activities
 Tracey Idle
  Lonna Oster
  Speech Language Program Coordinator
  lonna.oster@rrdsb.com
  807-274-9855 ext. 5016
 Lonna Oster
  Alexis Saltmarsh
  Behavioural Therapist
  alexis.saltmarsh@rrdsb.com
  807-274-9855 ext. 5004
 Alexis Saltmarsh
  Ruth Haney
  Behavioural Therapist
  ruth.haney@rrdsb.com
  807-482-2271 (Donald Young School) 
 Ruth Haney
 
  Marlee Zappitelli
  Autism Support Worker
  marlee.zappitelli@rrdsb.com
 Marlee Zappitelli
  Sherrie Mullner
  Autism Support Worker
  807-597-6640 (North Star School)
  sherrie.mullner@rrdsb.com
 Sherrie Mullner
  Stephanie Black
  Autism Support Worker
  stephanie.black@rrdsb.com
 
  Kellie Whalen
  Attendance Counsellor
  807-274-7747 ext. 262 (Fort Frances High School)
  kellie.whalen@rrdsb.com
 Kellie Whalen




  




Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.