Welcome to Rainy River District

Parent Involvement Committee

Parent Involvement Committee

One of the most effective and rewarding ways that parents can become involved in their children's learning is through active involvement in their school council. You will have the opportunity to voice your opinions on school issues and decisions on behalf of parents and community members in your school community.
Research shows that parental involvement is the most significant factor contributing to a child's success in school. Their active participation in school activities improves student achievement, increases school attendance and decreases student dropout. Students succeed when parents have a positive attitude about the importance of a good education.

NewsletterSchool Council



The meeting minutes for 2020-2021:
October 29, 2020

The meeting minutes for 2019-2020:
May 4, 2020
April 8, 2020
February 18, 2020
December 9, 2019
October 24, 2019

The meeting minutes for 2018-2019:
October 29, 2018
January 30, 2019
March 28, 2019
June 17, 2019

The meeting minutes for 2017-2018:
October 25, 2017
November 29, 2017
January 31, 2018
May 22, 2018

The meeting minutes for 2016-2017:

2020-2021 Parent Involvement Committee Members

Angela Siemens - Community Representative, Rainy River District Social Services Administration Board
Elaine Fischer - Co-Chair, Community Representative, Northwestern Health Unit
           - Trustee Representative
Ross Donaldson - Parent Representative, Crossroads School Council
LaDawn Schmidt - Parent Representative, J.W. Walker School
Shelly Jones - Community Representative, Seven Generations Education Institute
Kari-Lynn Beckett - Elementary School Teacher Representative
Lonna Oster - Parent Representative, Fort Frances High School Council Representative
Alexa Wideman - Parent Representative, Mine Centre School Council Representative
Cindy Homer - Co-Chair, Parent Representative, Robert Moore School Council Representative
Nancy Pitura - Parent Representative, Atikokan High School/North Star Community School
Maria Fuhrer - Parent Representative, Donald Young School
Chantal Seguin - Parent Representative, Sturgeon Creek School
Nadine Gerula - Parent Representative, Rainy River High School & Riverview School
Reta Dykstra - Parent Representative, Sturgeon Creek Alternative Program
Heather Campbell - Director of Education
Sharla MacKinnon - Vice Principal, Crossroads School

Visit our School Councils page

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2021 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.