Welcome to Rainy River District School Board

RRDSB recognizes volunteers and employees 2020

RRDSB recognizes volunteers and employees
Posted on 06/02/2020
Recognition of Services certificate

At its June 2, 2020 regular Board meeting, which was held remotely, the Rainy River District School Board announced the recipients of the Recognition of Service awards, honoring the 2020 Employees of the Year, Bus Driver of the Year, Volunteers of the Year, and Community Partner of the Year.

 Kim Bolen, a teacher at Donald Young School, and Marilyn Cole, an Education Support Personnel at Sturgeon Creek Alternative Program, were named Employees of the Year. Ms. Bolen was recognized for her engaging delivery of the Kindergarten program at DYS, ensuring a seamless transition to school for the young learners. Ms. Cole was recognized for consistently going the extra mile when assisting students at both the elementary and high school grade levels. 

 The Bus Driver of the Year award was presented to Liz Detweiler, who drives the Big Island First Nation bus to and from McCrosson-Tovell School. She was noted for her focus on student safety, as well as her genuine care for the students.

 Vic Davis and Lou Gauthier, coaches of the Fort Frances High School football team, were named Volunteers of the Year. Both were acknowledged for their dedication to the football program at Fort Frances High School, particularly their ability to lead and motivate the team, while encouraging the players to work together and to believe in themselves. The Muskies had a successful season, winning the 2019 WHSFL Currie Division Championship.   

 The Community Partner of the Year was Mali Bickley, who is the Connected North education consultant and school coordinator for the Rainy River District School Board. She was recognized for providing innovative programming for students through the Connected North program, both in the classroom and, now, from home. She has also supported the Board in bringing quality professional development for staff. 

 Board Chair Raymond Roy noted the Selection Committee was pleased to see so many nominations submitted for the Recognition of Service awards this year and thanked those who took the time to nominate deserving individuals from their school communities.

 “We are so grateful for the commitment and dedication of the staff, community partners, bus drivers and volunteers in our school communities who give of their time, energy and talent to support a wide variety of student endeavors both inside and outside the classroom,” said Mr. Roy. “They support and enhance the work of the Board; without them, many programs, activities and events just couldn’t happen.”

Press release

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.