Welcome to Rainy River District School Board

Recognition of Service 2023

Recognition of Service Awards 2023
Posted on 06/21/2023
2023 Bus Driver of the Year Lance Halstead

At its June 6, 2023 regular Board meeting, the Rainy River District School Board announced the recipients of the Recognition of Service awards, honoring the 2023 Employees of the Year, Bus Driver of the Year, Volunteers of the Year, and Community Partner of the Year.

Sara Empey, an Early Childhood Educator from Mine Centre School, and Susan Mosbeck, an Autism Support Worker at Robert Moore School, were named Employees of the Year. Both were recognized for their efforts in going above and beyond for their school communities. In particular, Ms. Empey was mentioned for her focus on outdoor learning at the school, and developing creative, engaging, and impactful lessons while at “camp.” Meanwhile, Ms. Mosbeck was acknowledged for creating school-wide opportunities for students and staff to recognize autism and to learn more about it.

The Bus Driver of the Year award was presented to Lance Halstead, who drives for First Student in Fort Frances. He was noted for his years of experience and reliability, as well as his willingness to accept extracurricular trips both locally and outside of the district.

Susan Freeman was named Volunteer of the Year for her work at Robert Moore School. She helps out at school events, such as pancake breakfasts, and runs the hot lunch program alongside some of her friends. She is always such a positive, kind helper.

The Community Partner of the Year was presented to the Anishinaabemodaa program (Waking up Ojibwe) that is run in partnership with Seven Generations Education Institute. They have gone above and beyond to help support our Ojibwe programming in RRDSB schools by creating resources for teachers to use, supporting NSL programming with the release of Ojibwe Immersion students, and supporting professional development sessions.

Board Chair Jeff Lehman noted the Selection Committee was pleased to see so many nominations submitted for the Recognition of Service awards this year and thanked those who took the time to nominate deserving individuals from their school communities.

“We are so grateful for the commitment and dedication of the staff, community partners, bus drivers and volunteers who continue to give their time, energy and expertise to support our school communities,” said Mr. Lehman.

2023 Community Partner2023 volunteer of the year2023 bus driver of the year   2023 employees of the year

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.